Visit the shop

Welcome To The New Era Of As It Is: ‘The Great Depression’

Brii Jamieson
Brii Jamieson 17 May 2018 at 18.00

"We're all to blame for the wounded world"

Gone is the 50s aesthetic- welcome to the new era of As It Is

As It Is have announced their follow up to their 2017 'okay.', with a brand new album, a brand new single, and a brand new aesthetic. This darker, broodier, era is centered around tackling and confronting some big and serious topics around mental health awareness. Speaking about the importance of the treating the concept sensitively, As It Is frontman Patty Walters has said "we’ve approached this subject with the tremendous respect and sensitivity it warrants. Mental health awareness and prioritisation has always been immensely important to us, and we want to use this platform for good and to challenge problematic behaviours and stigmas.  More so than ever before, we’ll be working alongside incredible non-profits, donating proceeds to worthy causes, and using our music in hopes of creating a positive change."

Here are the six things you need to know about this new era:

01. The new album is called 'The Great Depression'

Speaking about 'The Great Depression', Patty Walters has offered an insight in to the concept behind the album saying "'The Great Depression’ is about the societal romanticisation of depression, the disrepair of present-day human connection, told through the story of a man who finds himself face-to-face with Death. This album is about asking questions rather than offering answers, exploring the lines where consolation and glorification collide, and asking if art is too subjective to offer a universal solution.

02. It's being released August 10, 2018 through Fearless Records

03. The album artwork looks a little something like this:

04. The tracklisting looks like this (it's in four separate stages!!):

Stage I: Denial
01. The Great Depression
02. The Wounded World
03. The Fire, The Dark

Stage II: Anger
04. The Stigma (Boys Don’t Cry)
05. The Handwritten Letter
06. The Question, The Answer

Stage III: Bargaining
07. The Reaper (ft. Aaron Gillespie)
08. The Two Tongues (Screaming Salvation)
09. The Truth I’ll Never Tell

Stage IV: Acceptance
10. The Haunting
11. The Hurt, The Hope
12. The End.

05. The first single from 'The Great Depression' is 'The Wounded World', and you can watch the official video below:

Speaking about 'The Wounded World', Patty Walters has said "The Wounded World’ is a commentary on the polarised and volatile modern reality, which we’ve allowed. The video depicts a not-so-distant dystopia, where present-day headlines and technologies are displayed in exhibits as the warning signs of an impending disaster. I feel that we as a society have embodied a destructive habit of talking without listening, surrounding ourselves with alternative facts and headlines, totally void of open-mindedness or empathy. Despite the labels and beliefs that all too often divide us, we are one people, and we’re all to blame.”

06. 'The Great Depression' is available for pre-order now HERE

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More