Visit the shop

This Is Everything You Need To Know About Manchester Orchestra’s New Album

Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers 18 February 2021 at 14.06

'The Million Masks Of God'

Manchester Orchestra are back with a brand new album, and we've got all the info. 

1) It's called 'The Million Masks Of God'.

2) It's set to be released on April 30 via Loma Vista Recordings. 

3) Vocalist Andy Hull had this to say about the record, which whilst initially based on a fictitious character began to process real-time emotions as guitarist Robert McDowell’s father entered the toughest part of his fight with cancer:

“It started off really abstract, but as Robert’s dad’s fight with cancer got harder and harder those last couple years, I started making parallels in my mind to what I was actually writing about,” Hull explains. “It became an examination of my own faith. While Robert’s dad’s story certainly influenced this album, it’s equally about me coming to grips with the realness of adulthood and that there’s an expiration date to all of this—and how you’re going to live your life knowing that.”

“There’s a decision we’re faced with when experiencing loss and the inevitable grief that follows. Do we let it sink us? Try to ignore it and pretend it’s not there? Or do we search and dig until we find signs of beauty in life and all of its experiences?” explains Hull. “In a way, the grief will always define you but being together and creating something meaningful from all of the hardships has been the most helpful tool I’ve found."

4) The artwork looks like this:

5) And the full tracklisting like this:

1. Inaudible
2. Angel Of Death
3. Keel Timing
4. Bed Head
5. Annie
6. Telepath
7. Let It Storm
8. Dinosaur
9. Obstacle
10. Way Back
11. The Internet

6) You can check out the first track pulled from it, in the form of 'Bed Head', which Hull describes as, "two old friends existing in two separate realities, it’s a conversation about the lives they lived, the consequences of life’s decisions, and finding purpose in trying to be better"


Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More