Visit the shop

The Menzingers Have Announced A Full Reworking Of Their Latest Album ‘Hello Exile’

Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers 5 August 2020 at 16.07

Made 'From Exile'.

The Menzingers have announced the details of 'From Exile', a completely reworked version of their latest album 'Hello Exile' they have recorded whilst in quarantine. 

It's set for release digitally September 25 and physically November 13 via Epitaph and is a fascinating journey in to the band's songwriting process.

Let guitarist Greg Barnett explain a bit more:

“The live music industry vanished before our eyes, and just like that we were out of work like tens of millions of others. As the weeks progressed the upcoming tours got rescheduled, then rescheduled again, then effectively cancelled. There were times when it all felt fatal. There’s no guide book on how to navigate being a working musician during a global pandemic, so we were left to make it up as we went along. We wanted to document and create in the moment, and though we couldn’t be in the same room together due to social distancing lockdowns, we got creative.”
“We would track the songs from our own home studios, share the files via dropbox, and pray it all made sense when pieced back together. Initially, we planned for the album to be similar to our acoustic demo collection ‘On The Possible Past,’ but we quickly found out that this batch of songs benefited from more detailed arrangements.

“We rewrote, and changed keys and melodies. We blended analog and digital instruments in ways we never had before. We dug through old lyric notebooks and added additional verses. We got our dear friend Kayleigh Goldsworthy to play violin on two songs. No idea was off limits. Hell, I even convinced the band to let me play harmonica on a song (no small feat!). The recording process ran from mid-March till June, and upon completion we sent it over to our dear friend and close collaborator Will Yip to mix and master.”

You can also listen to two songs from it now!

Here's 'Strawberry Mansion':

And here's 'High School Friend':

The full tracklisting looks like this:

01. America (You're Freaking Me Out) (From Exile) 
02. Anna (From Exile) 
03. High School Friend (From Exile) 
04. Last To Know (From Exile) 
05. Strangers Forever (From Exile) 
06. Hello Exile (From Exile) 
07. Portland (From Exile) 
08. Strain Your Memory (From Exile)
09. I Can't Stop Drinking (From Exile)
10. Strawberry Mansion (From Exile) 
11. London Drugs (From Exile) 
12. Farewell Youth (From Exile)

And the artwork like this:

Also, if you fancy getting hold of some new Menzingers merch, head over to our mates at Impericon. You can get this lovely shirt right HERE


Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More