Visit the shop

The Maine Have Shared The Songs That Inspired Their New Album ‘You Are OK’

Brii Jamieson
Brii Jamieson 3 April 2019 at 11.57

The inspiration behind the album.

The Maine are on the cover of Rock Sound this month, celebrating the release of their brand new album 'You Are OK'!

To tie in with the release of their new album, The Maine revealed the songs that inspired them in the writing of 'You Are OK' with Billboard and shared "These tunes influenced the album -- not necessarily in a 'let’s write this song,' but in a 'let’s make stuff that makes us feel like this' kinda way," the band share in a statement. "The list could really go on and on, but these are some of the choice cuts that made us feel that special type of way."

The band's inspiration for 'You Are OK' comes from a whole lot of places -  everyone from Joni Mitchell through to Electric Light Orchestra and Radiohead.

Find out the full story inside The Maine's exclusive Rock Sound cover feature - pick up your copy of the mag right now, worldwide from SHOP.ROCKSOUND.TV

Check out the 14 songs that inspired 'You Are OK' below:

01. 'Break It Down Again' - Tears For Fears

02. 'When The Curtain Falls For You' - Jonathon Fire Eater

03. 'Isn't It A Pity' - George Harrison

04. 'Miki Dora' - Amen Dunes

05. 'Street Fighting Man' - The Rolling Stones

06. 'Bombers' - David Bowie

07. 'Dance Hall Days' - Wang Chung

08. 'Myxomatosis' - Radiohead

09. 'Both Sides Now' - Joni Mitchell

10. 'Livin' Thing' - Electric Light Orchestra

11. 'Anything You Want' - Spoon

12. 'The Recluse' - Cursive

13. 'A Song For The Lovers' - Richard Ashcroft

14. 'A Forest' - The Cure

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More