Visit the shop

Signs Of The Swarm Have Released A Destructively Intense New Track

Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers 27 July 2021 at 11.46

'Hollow Prison'

Signs Of The Swarm are gearing up to release a new album, and they've shared another slab of brutality to whet your appetite.

The track is called 'Hollow Prison' and is as debauched and destructive as you get. With guttural vocals, hardcore intensity and an all-consuming feeling of hopelessness coursing through it, it's a perfect advert for everything that the band represents.

It also features an appearance from Despised Icon's Alex Erian who brings an extra slab of concrete to proceedings.

Vocalist David Simonich had this to say about the tune:

‘Hollow Prison’ is one of our collective favourites on the album. It brings together all the key elements of Signs of the Swarm, while expanding to complement Alex Erian’s vocal style and delivery. That’s not to say this is Despised Icon worship, though all deathcore kind of is in a way, rather we siphon that through what makes us who we are. It’s one of the moshiest songs we have.

“Lyrically, it talks about being captive in our mortal shell, awaiting the inevitability of death as repetition slowly eats us away. Add the cycle of despair to ‘death and taxes.’ It’s a challenge to everyone to break that cycle and transcend disillusionment.”

Alex had this to say about his appearance:

“I said yes as soon as I heard the song, and I don’t agree to features often - especially these days. Despised Icon was on a break due to lockdown, things at work were also on hold, and I was spending way too much time home alone. Collaborating on this track with David and the boys was my outlet. I hope you dig it. Signs of the Swarm are the future of deathcore in my book.”

Here it is then:

It's set to appear on 'Absolvere', which is set for release on September 24 via Unique Leader Records.

The artwork looks like this:

And the full tracklisting like this:

01. Hymns ov Invocation
02. Boundless Manifestations
03. Dreaming Desecration
04. Totem
05. Nameless
07. Revelations ov a Silent King
08. Hollow Prison ft. Alex Erian
09. Blood Seal ft. Ben Duerr
10. Death Whistle

You can check out the insane 'Totem' right now as well:


Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More