Visit the shop

Real Friends Have Revealed Their New Vocalist & Released Two New Songs

Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers 21 June 2021 at 10.05

A new chapter begins.

Last year it was revealed that Real Friends had parted ways with vocalist Dan Lambton.

Since then it has been uncertain whether the band were to carry on or if they were done for good.

But here we are, a new era of Real Friends is here with a new face on vocals.

It has been revealed that Cody Muraro, previously a part of Youth Fountain, is now their frontman.

They have also signed to Pure Noise Records and dropped two new tracks.

The first is 'Nervous Wreck', an energetic and infectious slab of modern pop-punk wonderment.

Bassist Kyle Fasel had this to say about it:

“Nervous Wreck was inspired by the isolation I’ve experienced over the last year. Before COVID hit, I was making strides to get out of my introverted ways. All of those strides were quickly erased when the world flipped upside down. I’ve often been so introverted that some people take it the wrong way, like I’m mean or something. When in reality, I’ve just developed some social anxiety as I get older.

The lyrics of the song point to me being out of my own skin when around other people, and even feeling out of place when I’m by myself. There’s not really a resolution to the song. It’s very much about being in the midst of all those complicated feelings.

Having a new singer in the mix can be a hard challenge to overcome, but Nervous Wreck still fully embodies the spirit of Real Friends. It fits Cody’s voice perfectly. I remember recording it and thinking this is exactly what Real Friends is. This track is very special to me.”

And the other called 'Storyteller', showing off the more patient and vulnerable side of the band:


So yeah. Here we go. Keep yours open for more new RF as the year rolls on.

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More