Visit the shop

ME REX Have Announced Their 52-Song Debut Album That Can Be Listened To In Infinite Orders

Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers 3 June 2021 at 11.39

A truly incredible and ambitious project.

have announced the details of their debut full-length album, and it is unlike anything that has ever been made. 

It's called 'Megabear' and is set for release on June 18 via Big Scary Monsters. 

The artwork looks like this:

Now, this is where it gets interesting. 

The album is comprised of 52 short songs that sync up to make one continuous piece of music. What makes this fascinating is you can click shuffle and it will create a completely new piece of music every single time you listen. 

So that is infinite orders, infinite possibilities and infinite listening experiences. 

Let the band explain a little bit more about how it works:

"Megabear is an album made up of 52 tracks. The majority of the tracks are 32 seconds long, performed at 120 bpm, in 4/4 time, & in the key of Bb.

This album has no beginning or end but exists as a cyclical body of work intended to be played on shuffle. This allows the listener to find their own unique sonic narrative with each listen.

There are 8.06e+67 possible combinations to experience Megabear. It will play in a different order every time you press play. We hope you enjoy it."

Alongside the record, the band have also put together a deck of 52 cards, each one representing a different song. So when laid out they make up a combination. 

Seriously, how incredible is this?

To give you a taste of what to expect, the band have released a single called 'Galena', which is made up of five of the 52 tracks. 

They are Applewhite Iron Sulphide, Wandle, Radon, Burnt Oak and Lead.

You can hear and shuffle the full album, and pre-order it physically, from right HERE

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More