Visit the shop

LISTEN: At The Gates’ Blistering New Track ‘Spectre Of Extinction’

Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers 30 April 2021 at 17.07

The first taste of the band's new record 'The Nightmare Of Being' is here.

At The Gates
are back and doing what they do best. 

The band have shared the first single, and the opening track, from their brand new album 'The Nightmare Of Being' in the form of 'Spectre Of Extinction', a slow-burning yet savage slice of harsh and heavy modern metal. 

Showing off the full range of textures and tools the band have at their disposal, it's a fitting opening to a new era. 

Vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant had this to say about the tune:

“It is always very hard to choose which song to release to the public first, especially with this album having so many layers and textures. We did feel, however, that this, the opening track of the record, represented the overall feel of the album. It has the musical depths that you would expect from an AT THE GATES track, and still carries that intensity and urgency that we have always tried to get across with our music."

And he had this to say about the video they created for the track:

"For the video, it was wonderful to be able to continue the work with the mighty Patric Ullaeus, as he understands our vision with the music and is willing to go all the way to portray the song’s inner dimensions. I think he did that excellently with this one and I’m very proud of the result. The lyrics deal with humanity’s will and how that clashes with our consciousness, and our knowledge of our mortality. Enjoy!”

Here we go:

'The Nightmare Of Being' is set for release on July 02 via Century Media.

The artwork looks like this:

And the full tracklisting like this:

01. Spectre of Extinction
02. The Paradox
03. The Nightmare of Being
04. Garden of Cyrus
05. Touched by the White Hands of Death
06. The Fall into Time
07. Cult of Salvation
08.The Abstract Enthroned
09. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter of Reason

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More