Visit the shop

Les Savy Fav Announce New Album Release Date And Tracklisting

Ben Patashnik
Ben Patashnik 18 June 2010 at 17.04

And it's going to sound like Drive Like Jehu and Superchunk! Crowd goes wild

New York mentalists Les Savy Fav have brightened everyone's Friday up considerably by releasing details of their new album, entitled 'Root For Ruin'.

Guitarist Seth Jabour told Rock Sound: " I was thinking about our old songs and how we wrote our first two records as a five-piece and we wanted to get some of that spirit back, we wanted to get guitars playing round each other. So when Andrew came in for 'Let's Stay Friends' we thought, ‘Let’s make a rock record’. ‘Go Forth’ was a little more new wave, but here some songs are going to sound like ‘The Equestrian’ – really driving and building up to a big crescendo – but there are a few that are totally different and fall under the category of ‘Scotchguard The Credit Card’, simpler and more atmospheric. It’s pretty broad, but the writing has become a lot more compact.

"It reminds me of our older stuff; in the back of my mind I did think of a lot of mid-90s indie rock, the stuff we were coming up on when we started the band. We kept on throwing about names like Drive Like Jehu, Circus Lupus, Archers Of Loaf, Superchunk… all of a sudden, 10 years later, you forget those were the bands that were informing us. This album was so fun and refreshing to work on something that reminds me of that style of music."

The album will be released on September 13 via the ever-ace Wichita, and the tracklisting is as follows:

1. Appetites
2. Dirty Knails
3. Sleepless In Silverlake
4. Let's Get Out Of Here
5. Lips n' Stuff
6. Poltergeist
7. High And Unhinged
8. Excess Engergies
9. Dear Crutches
10. Calm Down
11. Clear Spirits

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More