Visit the shop

Here’s Everything You Need To Know About The New Mastodon Album

Rob Sayce
Rob Sayce 27 January 2017 at 14.11

'Emperor Of Sand' is on the way.

Mastodon have announced a new album, 'Emperor Of Sand'.

You can hear a song from it, 'Sultan's Curse', right here:

The album will be released on March 31 via Reprise.

Here's the tracklist:

1. Sultan’s Curse
2. Show Yourself
3. Precious Stones
4. Steambreather
5. Roots Remain
6. Word To The Wise
7. Ancient Kingdom
8. Clandestiny
9. Andromeda
10. Scorpion Breath
11. Jaguar God

And the cover looks like this:

On the album's themes, drummer / vocalist Brann Dailor has said:

"'Emperor of Sand' is like the grim reaper. Sand represents time. If you or anyone you know has ever received a terminal diagnosis, the first thought is about time. Invariably, you ask, ‘How much time is left?’”

“We’re reflecting on mortality,”
added bassist / vocalist Troy Sanders. “To that end, the album ties into our entire discography. It’s 17 years in the making, but it’s also a direct reaction to the last two years. We tend to draw inspiration from very real things in our lives.”

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More