Visit the shop

Frank Iero & The Future Violents Have Announced The Details Of A New EP

Jack Rogers
Jack Rogers 19 November 2020 at 13.18

'Heaven is A Place, This Is A Place'

Frank Iero has announced the details of a new EP with his band the Future Violents, or as they're known on this release the Future Violence

Here's everything you need to know...

1) It's called 'Heaven Is A Place, This Is A Place'.

2) It's being released on January 15 2021 via UNFD. 

3) The artwork looks like this:

4) And the tracklisting like this:

01. Violence
02. Sewer Wolf
03. Losing My Religion
04. Record Ender

5) Frank had this to say about the origins of the EP and its title:

“The Future Violents was the perfect band at the perfect time for me. The creativity flowed through us like rapids and we didn’t stop writing because we ran out of inspiration…it was just time to go to the studio. In fact I was still writing at the studio, but I allowed myself the luxury of 14 songs on the record leaving 3 to survive in the shadows. Lying in wait. I knew I wanted them to see the light, it was just a matter of how and when.”

“The title of the EP actually comes from the night before we started recording Barriers at Electrical Audio in Chicago. The band went out to eat and get drinks at a local Tiki bar called, Lost Lake. On the menu that night there was a drink called Heaven is a place/This is the place.” shares Iero on the meaning behind the EP title. “I love when the universe gives you gifts like that. You just have to be in tune to your surroundings. The name struck me as clever and I started to think about how changing one word in that title meant something way more profound to me. Heaven is a place, if you believe in that sort of thing…It is the reward at the end of a long hard journey of fighting the good fight and living your life to whatever standards you hold dear. But it’s just a place. And so is this…This is a place, the earthly realm, miraculous on so many levels but also just a place. The difference is you and your perception.”

6) You can hear the band's cover of REM's 'Losing My Religion' right now as well:

7) As explained, the EP follows up last year's full-length 'Barriers'. Here's 'Medicine Square Garden' from that release:

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More