Visit the shop

Blink-182’s Matt Skiba: “Alkaline Trio Fans Have Been Very, Very Supportive”

Rob Sayce
Rob Sayce 4 April 2017 at 12.41

Good to hear.

Alkaline Trio frontman Matt Skiba has commented on the response to him joining Blink-182.

"Some people were [like], 'What the hell? What does this mean for Alkaline Trio?'" he explained in a new interview

"In a very positive way it was, 'It's crazy. Is this going to work? Congratulations!'"

"There were some people who were like, 'This is an amazing fit,' and some Tom loyalists who were like, 'Fuck you! This is terrible.'"

"But mostly, I'm very happy and grateful to say that Alkaline Trio fans have been very, very supportive even when they do get a little homesick missing the band. It's still very supportive and it's not like I'm not Alkaline Trio for some selfish or no good reason."

You can hear Matt's latest song as part of Blink, 'Misery', right here.

"Two years ago, [at] Travis' Musink Festival that happens annually, Blink was scheduled to play it and shortly before the show Tom dropped out as far as I know," Matt recalled.

"Tom quit the band just before the show and the guys hit me up and asked me to fill in so they didn't have to cancel their Musink Festival."

"Mark called me and asked me to have lunch with him, which wasn't necessarily out of the ordinary and when Travis showed up I thought the three of us having lunch together was kind of peculiar."

"I very enthusiastically said, 'Yes, absolutely. I would love to fill in.' The shows went great and from there we decided to go into the studio and see how that went and clearly the record ['California'] has done very well and apart from that it's just something we're very proud of and had a very great time making.

"It's been an incredible journey with these guys that started two years ago to the date actually."

Here's the first single they released together, 'Bored To Death'.

"I had never played any Blink [before joining]," Matt also said.

"I may have been listening to 'em and had a guitar in my hand just by happenstance but I never sat down to learn any Blink songs or try and figure out Tom's guitar playing until I was asked to fill in for the shows."

"When the guys asked me to play with them, I went straight home after that lunch meeting and just started learning the songs. I had 30-something songs I was familiar with but it's one thing to hear music and another thing to learn how to play it."

Blink will release a deluxe edition of 'California' on May 19. They'll also hit the UK this summer, and those dates are:


03 - CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena
04 - NOTTINGHAM Motorpoint Arena
05 - LEEDS First Direct Arena
07 - BIRMINGHAM Barclaycard Arena
09 - NEWCASTLE Metro Radio Arena
11 - GLASGOW SSE Hydro
12 - ABERDEEN GE Oil & Gas Arena
15 - LIVERPOOL Echo Arena
17 - BOURNEMOUTH Int Centre
19 - LONDON O2
20 - LONDON O2

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More