Visit the shop

Against Me! Have Announced A New Album + Tour

Janneke Stam
Janneke Stam 18 July 2016 at 17.51

They're back!

Against Me! have announced their seventh full-length 'Shape Shift With Me'.

The follow-up to 2014's 'Transgender Dysphoria Blues' will be out on September 16 via Xtra Mile Recordings, and contains the following songs...

1. ProVision L-3
2. 12:03
3. Boyfriend
4. Crash
5. Delicate, Petite & Other Things I'll Never Be
6. 333
7. Haunting, Haunted, Haunts
8. Dead Rats
9. Rebecca
10. Norse Truth
11. Suicide Bomber
12. All This (And More)

You can hear the first new song off the album, '333', below.

“Tons of people have written about love. But while love is cliché, it’s infinitely relevant,” explained vocalist Laura Jane Grace.

“For me, having always been in a punk band that was expected to be political, I never felt like I had that option to write about feelings in that way. That’s what I ended up being drawn to this time. It’s writing in a way I thought I could never write before, and not giving a shit about expectations.”

“There needs to be more records about trans rights and everything like that, but feeling like I already did that, I wanted to move on to write commentary on living from a trans perspective. I wanted to write the transgender response to the Rolling Stones’ Exile On Main St., Liz Phair’s Exile In Guyville and the Streets’ A Grand Don’t Come For Free. All those records are relationship records. There’s been an infinite amount of records talking about what love means from a cisgender perspective. I wanted to present the trans perspective on sex, love and heartbreak.”

Against Me! will tour the UK later this year, you can catch them at...


06 - BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy II
07 - MANCHESTER Academy II
08 - LONDON Electric Ballroom
09 - GLASGOW Garage
11 - NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More