Visit the shop

5 Reasons To Get Really, Really Excited For The Xcerts’ New Album

Rock Sound
Rock Sound 7 August 2014 at 15.02

The Xcerts' new album 'There Is Only You' is coming, and there are all sorts of reasons to get pumped for November 03.

This is what it looks like.

And this is the tracklisting:

1. 2.12.12
2. Live Like This
3. Shaking In The Water
4. Kick It
5. I Don't Care
6. Kevin Costner
7. Teenage Lust
8. Pop Song
9. Kids On Drugs
10. She
11. There Is Only You

Now here's why it's going to rule.

1. Because it's got this song on it.
'Shaking In The Water' is the first taste of the album we've had, and it's really bloody good. Also any band who can fix up a garage that nicely is alright in our book.

2. Because frontman Murray Macleod was deaf for a while during the writing. Yep, deaf.
Well that's an interesting one...
"I had to take three months out because I perforated my eardrum," he says. "I was deaf with incredibly loud tinnitus for about two and a half months. It was terrifying. But in that time I started studying classic rock records, or what's deemed as classic. So I was looking at 'Damn The Torpedoes' by Tom Petty, 'Born To Run', and 'Tim' by The Replacements, and it just so happened that all those were their third records, which tied in with us feeling like we needed to make this life-changing record for ourselves."

3. Because 'Scatterbrain'
The band's last album kicked all sorts of arse, and by the time 'There Is Only You Drops', we'll have been waiting over FOUR LONG YEARS for a follow-up to 'Scatterbrain'. That's 1,492 days between albums! Here's hoping it was worth the wait.

4. Because it's happy and sad and happy and sad. All at the same time.
Murray explains: "It's heightened the intensity of this idea of there being one person in my life who I love and want to be with. This isn't a break-up record but in a way it does sound like it. We wanted it to sound like a romantic rock record, even though it's a sad romance, the romance you can have with nostalgia."

5. Because Scotland
Twin AtlanticBiffy ClyroFatherson. Scotland doesn't seem to do bad rock music at the moment. Thank you, Scotland.

'There Is Only You' is set to be released on November 03 via Raygun Music.

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More