Listen To A New Underøath Song

It's provoked some pretty strong reactions.

Underøath have dropped a new song, 'Rapture'.

It premiered on the BBC Radio 1 Rock Show, and sounds a whole lot like this:

It's provoked some pretty strong reactions, from the positive... the not quite so positive.

Speaking to the Rock Sound Podcast, drummer / vocalist Aaron Gillespie told us that: "I see a lot of stuff that’s happening in modern music, in this type of music and I just don’t understand it, they’ll say, ‘We’re big fans of you guys’ and I’m just like, ‘How?’ I don’t understand that and that’s not to be the jaded old guy who’s like, ‘Fuck you, I don’t like your band so you can’t like mine!’ I’m not saying that, but it’s funny to draw parallels between certain things, as a human we want to pick the good stuff, so I hear the Bring Me record and I’m like, ‘Oh yeah, they love us and that record’s fucking great!’ and then I’ll hear other things and I’m, ‘Oh, they said we’re an influence and I don’t really like that’ so it’s human right?"

"...Talking about Bring Me, I don’t think they sound like Underøath in any way ever, but maybe other people can hear it. I don’t know if it’s I don’t pay close enough attention or that I try not to fill my head with those things, which is again why I think that ‘Erase Me’ is such a different record, because we didn’t want to come out and re-do ourselves, we wanted to come out and outdo ourselves and make it something that no one had heard from us."

"So I think that’s another reason why this record is so based off the songs, rather than just the moments, we really wanted to come out with a record that hopefully people would look at again and go, ‘Wow, we want to be influenced by this now’ not just by ‘Define The Great Line’. I think if we’d come out with a part two of that record, it would have been a senseless thing for us to do, especially now.”

The band's new album 'Erase Me' is out April 06 via Fearless. Here's the tracklist:

01. It Has To Start Somewhere
02. Rapture
03. On My Teeth
04. Wake Me
05. Bloodlust
06. Sink With You
07. Ihateit
08. Hold Your Breath
09. No Frame
10. In Motion
11. I Gave Up

And the cover: