Visit the shop

Track By Track: ROAM’s New Album ‘Smile Wide’

Brii Jamieson
Brii Jamieson 5 September 2019 at 15.08

We're going in.

ROAM's brand new album 'Smile Wide' is set for release on Friday (September 06) through Hopeless Records! This is their first new music since the release of their 2017 album 'Great Heights & Nosedives' - and it's a bit of a sonic departure for the Eastbourne lads. We asked guitarist / vocalist Alex Adam to talk us through the album, track by track. Over to Alex:

01. 'Better In Than Out'
"This track is about feeling anger and frustration towards someone / something, and wanting to tell them exactly how you feel about them, but knowing it would only cause more problems. It’s basically the boiling point of snapping and unloading all your grievances with someone / something / a situation."

02. 'I Don’t Think I Live There Anymore'
This one uses the idea of an out of body experience to show the feeling out being out of control, it follows the protagonist as they wander vacant through life, doing as they're told, going where they’re told. Ultimately they end up where they’ve been told to go and the chorus hits. It also touches on the idea that these people don’t even know the person they’re walking all over."

03. 'LOUD'
"‘LOUD’ is really about being expressive, and not filtering yourself for anyone. It’s about telling people what you want and going and getting it, be 'LOUD'."

04. 'Play Dumb'
"This track also touches on the 'Red & Blue' metaphor - sometimes not knowing that there’s more is actually better than constantly wanting more for yourself and not getting it. Ignorance is bliss - would it be better if we all played dumb?"

05. 'Fire On The Ceiling'
"This track is about knowing you have issues to deal with, and ignoring them. The example given in the song is about a fire burning a house down whilst you stand inside and watch it burn."

06. 'Piranha'
"This track is about a recurring dream I had where I was in a lake full of piranha, and all I wanted to do was get to the other side. I knew what I wanted, but there was no way to get there without certain death.  It’s about learning to deal with your issues before they rule you and your subconscious."

07. 'Red & Blue'
"The album title ‘Smile Wide’ is taken from a lyric in this track. The Red and Blue referred to represent the red and blue pil / potion metaphor seen in films like Alice & Wonderland, The Matrix etc. The red pill and its opposite, the blue pill, are a popular cultural theme, a metaphor representing the choice between:

Red Pill: A life of harsh knowledge, desperate freedom, and the brutal truths of reality

Blue Pill: A life of luxurious security, tranquil happiness, and the blissful ignorance of the harsh realities of life, basking in an (essentially dishonest) illusion.

This song generally describes an almost conveyor belt life of 9-5 work just to pay the bills. It’s about challenging that and breaking from the monotony of following the line and living just to work."

08. 'Hand Grenade'
"This track is about being fed up with everything. It’s the breaking point of being given shit situation after shit situation and blowing up about it."

09. 'Toy Box'
"This one talks about the overall theme of the album - being controlled by someone else, and being disposable. Not wanting to be one of many toys, only used on their terms. Also, every verse starts with a quote from Toy Story which is pretty fun."

10. 'Turn'
"Rounding off the album, this track is about turning a bad situation around and not letting what you’ve been through decide who you are."

ROAM's new album 'Smile Wide' is set for release September 06 through Hopeless Records.

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More