Visit the shop

Track By Track And Stream: Matt Pryor ‘May Day’

Rock Sound
Rock Sound 20 January 2012 at 11.09

Listen to and read all about the new solo album from The Get Up Kids’ frontman Matt Pryor.

Click here to buy a copy of the album, read below for Matt's track by track guide to the record...

01. Don't Let The Bastards Get You Down
"Thought this would set the tone of the record well as an opener. This is something that my mom used to say to me when I was a kid. Kind of like it's not your fault if other people suck."

02. The Lies Are Keeping Me Here
"The first song that I wrote for May Day. Every time that I tell you that I love this is bullshit. I'm lying to both of us. Don't cry for me when I'm gone, I'm not going to cry for me when I leave. There is too much life to live to worry about that."

03. Where Do We Go From Here
"Very autobiographical. Back in the day? Yeah, that was great. But, past is past and it's time to move on. The only problem is I don't have any other skills so I'm not really sure what else to do. Along the way I trusted some people who turned out to not be trustworthy...not a good plan."

04. Like A Professional
"This is a true story. It happened in Brooklyn. Ran into an old friend the other day. Hadn't seen him in over a decade. I wrote a song about him when last we were together. Anyway, he came backstage after the show and started to work the room, looking for someone else more important to talk to. It was kind of perversely impressive."

05. As If I Could Fall In Love With You Again
"I learned a lot from you but I'm just not interested anymore."

06. Polish The Broken Glass
"Reflecting on your own legacy. We don't have much say about how we want to be remembered. So, instead of getting mad about mad about I'm choosing to let it go and focus on the things that are important."

07. Unhappy Is The Only Happy That You'll Ever Be
"James Dewees said this one time and I've had it written down for two years because I thought it would make a good song title. So, the song itself grew out of the title."

08. As Lies Go...This One Is Beautiful
"You may be a terrible person. You lie, you cheat, you steal but you do it so well that I have to be impressed. Even at my own expense."

09. Your New Favorite
"Introspective, autobiographical. I don't think that we're on the same page about all this. Who I am and who you want me to be are two different people. So, I'm getting out of here but you'll miss me when I'm gone."

10. You Won't Get Any Blood From Me
"More songs about me. I work so hard but you just shit on everything that I do. So, I'm not going to take it any more. You can't hurt me if I don't care what you think."

11. I Was A Witness
"I wrote this after I read 'The Book Thief'. This is written from death's perspective. He/she/it has been watching us the whole time doing the work for him."

12. What My Tired Eyes Would View
"The only love song on the record. The rest of it was so dark thematically that I thought it could use a little lightening up at the closing."

For more head to or follow @mattpryorsongs.

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More