Visit the shop

So You’ve Heard The Xcerts’ Incredible New Album, Right? Now It’s Time To Hear The Bonus Tracks.

Rock Sound
Rock Sound 29 October 2014 at 12.25

If you're anything like us, 'There Is Only You' has probably totally destroyed your emotions. For more aural joy / emotional pain, we've hooked up a first listen of the album's bonus tracks.

"'Bored Of Being Adored' and 'Heaven' are songs that we are very proud of but didn't quite make the final cut," frontman Murray Macleod tells us. "'Bored' is a catchy upbeat pop song but the overall tone of the song didn't fit in with what we were aiming for with 'There Is Only You'. It felt a little too playful in comparison with the other songs which although are catchy and accessible, also have a hint of melancholy about them. The song is about a heated conversation between my head and heart.

"'Heaven' just missed out on making the album but we felt the record would be one song too long if it was to be on there. We really wanted the album to be relatively short and snappy and i believe it was meant to be inbetween 'She' and 'There Is Only You' but unfortunately it just didn't sit as well as we had originally hoped. We lost a dear a friend a couple of years ago and this song is about the confusion and anger myself and my friends experienced around that time. The chorus was supposed to be a rousing call to arms to let the ones I love know everything would be ok."

You can hear 'There Is Only You' in full (minus the bonus tracks) over at The Independent. The album itself is released on Monday, November 03 through Raygun Music.

The band are out on the road over the next few weeks as main support to Twin Atlantic:

29 - SHEFFIELD Academy
30 - LEEDS Met University

01 - BIRMINGHAM Institute
02 - CARDIFF Uni Solus
03 - LONDON Roundhouse
04 - SOUTHAMPTON Guildhall
06 - CAMBRIDGE Junction

Once that's wrapped, they'll be heading straight into their own headline tour:

07 - GLASGOW Oran Mor
08 - DUNDEE Beat Generator Live
10 - NEWCASTLE Think Tank
11 - SHEFFIELD Corporation
12 - NORWICH Waterfront Studio
13 - NOTTINGHAM Bodega
14 - LONDON Tufnell Park Dome
15 - ALDERSHOT West End Centre

To read our full review of 'There Is Only You', grab the new issue of Rock Sound. You can download it, order a copy to your door or pick it up from UK stores TODAY!

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More