Search Rock Sound Magazine

This Video Of Bruce Dickinson Flying A Plane Is The Most Badass Thing You’ll See Today

Rock Sound
Rock Sound about 5 hours ago

Iron Maiden frontman Bruce Dickinson took part in a 12-minute, nine-plane air display at Sonisphere earlier this month with The Great War Display Team. Here's why it ruled...

1. First off, the whole thing was to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the First World War.
Makes everything else seem a little insignificant, no?

2. Bruce Dickinson looked like this while the whole thing was going on.
Just look at him! This is the frontman of one of the biggest metal bands in the world. In an aviator hat and goggles. Brilliant.

3. All of these people stopped what they were doing to watch.
Yep, Bruce Dickinson and eight of his mates made an entire festival crowd stop and look up.

4. He had a lovely view.
The advantage of flying over a festival in the countryside? Being able to gawp at the festival and the countryside below you. Nice.

5. ...Did we mention he was flying a really old plane above a festival?!
This man has huuuuge balls.

6. He landed, then smashed his band's headline set that night.
What an absolute hero.

And here's the video of the whole thing. Unbelievable.

What do you think about this story?

Let @rocksound know on Twitter

Read this next!

Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden Announce O2 Arena Date For August

Things to do if you're Iron Maiden on a Saturday night:

1. Kick off your show at Download with a ruddy flypast.
2. Do this.
3. Finish off your evening by announcing a date at London's O2 Arena on August 03

Go to bed.

Tickets for the date go on sale Friday June 28, while Iron Maiden FanClub members can get presales on Monday June 24 and Tuesday June 25.

Go check out all our Download festival reviews, photos, videos and everything else at There is literally loads.

News 15 June

Rock Sound Online

More Rock Sound

View More